Dr. Timothy Gilpatrick Awarded the Excellence in Diversity Equity & Inclusion Research Award

Congratulations to Dr. Timothy Gilpatrick who was awarded the Excellence in Diversity Equity and Inclusion Research Award at the American Society of Cytopathology Annual Scientific Meeting in Austin Texas!!

Tim Gipatrick & Poonam Vohra, ASC(Photo: Drs. Poonam Vohra and Timothy Gilpatrick)

Along with his coauthors, Drs. Poonam Vohra, Steve Long, and Peyman Samghabadi and with Cytologist Reza Mousavi, Tim analyzed anal cancer disparities at ZSFG and demonstrated age and race based differences in anal cytology.
The ASC award for DEI stated in 2022 and has only been awarded twice. This is the second year in a row a UCSF team has received the DEI award at the ASC meeting, both of which came from work at ZSFG showing the importance of the diverse populations we serve and the rich material available at ZSFG for DEI focused research.
In addition to a beautiful plaque, the ASC foundation awarded Tim a $500 American Express Gift Card.
Congratulations Tim!
Ronald Balassanian, MD
Anatomic Pathology Residency Director