

# UCSF PATHOLOGY ALUMNI NEWSLETTER

ISSUE 12: JULY 2021

## AANP (American Association of Neuropathologist: Virtual Success Story

The AANP Annual Meeting in 2021 was a hybrid, with both some live as well as "virtual only" events. Dr. Arie Perry, Director of NP, attended in person, and the remaining UCSF group attended virtually. Once again, regardless of the past difficulties of the previous year due to COVID-19, our Neuropathology Division led the way in the number of research presentations, and members of our faculty and a couple of trainees made the award list. The department congratulates all the awardees as well as co-authors on their successful presentations and also wants to recognize the sustained success and involvement at many levels of UCSF faculty and trainees in past years at the AANP Annual Meeting.

AANP Awards (NP faculty member in bold; trainees with asterisk)

- 1. Moore Award for Best Paper on Clinico-Pathological Correlation: Emily Sloan (prior fellow) mentored by **David Solomon** for Abstract 113.
- **2.** Weil Award for Best Paper on Experimental Neuropathology (honorable mention): **Lea Grinberg** for Abstract 98.

**Scientific Presentations** 

- 1. Platform (Abstract 12): COVID-19-Associated Immune-Mediated Necrotizing Myopathy: A 3-Case Series. **D. Sullivan\***, **CH. Lucas\***, D. Bahceci, **B. Ramani\***, H. Sanchez, **M. Margeta**.
- Platform (Abstract 15): A Clinicopathologic Outcome Study of CNS Post-transplant Lympho-proliferative Disorder (PTLD). E. Guney\*, CH. Lucas\*, M. Pekmezci, S. Alexandrescu, B. Mobley, S. Bannykh, S. Powell, A. Toland, H. Vogel, C. Davidson, K. Schafernak, J. Neltner, D. Boue, R. Ohgami, A. Bollen, T. Tihan, A. Perry, D. Solomon, KW Wen.
- Platform (Abstract 113): Intracranial Mesenchymal Tumor with FET-CREB Fusion Is Composed of Two Distinct Epigenetic Subgroups. E. Sloan (former fellow), R. Gupta, C. Koelsche, A. von Deimling, J. Chiang, J. Villanueva-Meyer, S. Alexandrescu, J. Eschbacher, W. Wang, M. Mafra, N. Ud Din, E. Carr-Boyd, M. Watson, M. Punsoni, A. Oviedo, A. Gilani, B. Kleinschmidt-DeMasters, D. Coss, M. Beatriz Lopes, C. Raffel, A. Reddy, S. Mueller, B. Ramani\*, S. Ferris, J. Lee, J. Hofmann, SJ. Cho, A. Horvai, M. Pekmezci, T. Tihan, A. Bollen, F. Rodriguez, D. Ellison, A. Perry, S. Chang, M. Berger, D. Solomon.
- 4.Poster (Abstract 61): Recurrent Pediatric Glioma with EP300-BCOR Fusion. E. Goold, **D. Sullivan\***, **A. Perry**, J. Klonoski, L. Robinson, S. Alexandrescu, W. Devine, M. Alashari, A. Putnam.
- Poster (Abstract 98): Caspase-6 Truncated Tau Play A Major Role In Alzheimer's Disease: Diagnostic And Therapeutic Implications. P. Theofilas, A. Piergies, P. Cathrine, C. Wang, D. Butler, S. Hua Li, B. Chin, T. Yang, S. Khan, R. Ng, S. Spina, W. Seeley, B. Miller, L. Gan, J. Gestwicki, C. Karch, S. Temple, M. Arlin, LT. Grinberg.
- 6. Poster (Abstract 141): A FRET-based Reporter to Screen for Genetic Modifiers of Nuclear Inclusion Formation in Polyglutamine Disease. **B. Ramani**\*, A. Abarientos, G. Aviles, S. See, M. Kampmann.
- 7. Poster (Abstract 178): FGFR3-LRRC48 Novel Fusion in a Left Temporal Lobe Mass with Pigmented Granules. A. Aksionau, H. Takei, J. Cotelingam, **A. Perry**, A. C. Ocampo.
- 8. Poster (Abstract 188): Primary Intracranial Ewing Sarcoma. M. Pimenova, K. Thompson, **A. Perry**, J. Uyehara-Lock.

#### **Invited Lectures and Additional Meeting Roles**

- 1. Platform Session 3: Glial Tumors 1, Moderator: Arie Perry
- 2. 62nd AANP Diagnostic Slide Session Case 2021-1: Filip Garrett, Peter Nelson, Calixto-Hope Lucas\*, Arie Perry
- 3. 62nd AANP Diagnostic Slide Session Case 2021-8: Calixto-Hope Lucas\*, Andrew Bollen, David Solomon
- 4. Membership Committee Member: Calixto-Hope Lucas\*
- 5. Professional Affairs Committee Member: Ekin Guney\*
- 6. Awards Committee Member: David Solomon
- 7. Education Committee Member: Melike Pekmezci
- 8. Education Committee Member: Eric Huang
- 9. Nominating Committee Member as ex-President: Arie Perry
- 10. Neuropathology Program Director Committee Member: Arie Perry
- 11. Vice President: Eric Huang
- 12. Executive Council Member: Eric Huang
- 13. AANP Councilor to the International Society of Neuropathology: Tarik Tihan

#### Awards

The department wishes to announce and congratulate the following Pathology Department on the following awards:

**David Solomon, MD, PhD,** winner of the Ramsi Cotran Young Investigator Award from American Society of Investigative Pathology (ASIP), 2021. Dr Solomon also recently was awarded the Cotran Young Investigator Award by USCAP in 2020, and may be the only individual (to our knowledge) who has won both Cotran awards. David is currently an Assistant Professor of Pathology.

**Carolyn Sangokoya, MD, PhD**, with a focus on basic research, was awarded the Watson Scholar prize from the Dean's Diversity Fund here at UCSF. This is a 4-yr award at \$75K/year that helps to provide support for career development activities. Carolyn is currently a Clinical Instructor in Pathology. The department now has two members who have received this award. The other member is **Roberto Ruiz-Cordero**, MD, Assistant Professor of Pathology (Clinical X series), who also received a Watson Scholar award in 2020.

### **Department Strategic Plan Development 2021**

Under the leadership of Chair Jay Debnath, our Chief Administrator Kelly McNeill and the remaining members of the Leadership Group in Pathology, the department has taken on the task of developing a comprehensive short- and long-term strategic plan for both faculty and staff members that will hopefully address the changing environment for medical care nationwide as well as for the future position of UCSF medical center and campus. The ultimate charge of each group will be to develop definable and measurable goals (2-5 total), short-term and/or long term, for the Department. The highest priorities to include in the plan were chosen by survey of both department members and staff. The Committees members are volunteers from both faculty and staff, and these groups started their deliberations in late spring, with the goal of ending in August. Subsequently, each Committee Chair will report their Committee's proposed goals to the entire faculty and staff at a future retreat to be planned for this coming fall (2021). The Department leadership thanks all those involved in this very important endeavor.

Planning Committees: Chair(s)

Next Generation Technology: Melike Pekmezci and Brad Stohr

Computational Pathology: Zoltan Laszik

Partnership Cultivation: Sanjay Kakar

Mentoring/Well-Being: Dana Balitzer

Operational and Finance: Elham Khanafshar and Staff member Branden Zhu

Global Pathology: Ron Balassanian

Evidence-Based Personalized Care: Joe Rabban

# **Retirement Announcement**

Ms. Ana Narvaez retired after 20 years of service in our department in her role as Assistant to the Chair. Ana took on this role when Dr Abbas became Chair, and continued to serve Dr Jayanta Debnath when he took over the role as Chair in July 2018. The Department wants to thank her for her many years of outstanding and loyal service, and wishes her the best in her new retired life.